16.04.2021 — 13.05.2021
Buy ticket
16.04.2021 — 13.05.2021
200 / 100 ₽
Lesnaya str. 55, Moscow

вт–вс с 11:00 до 19:00,
чт и сб до 20:00
пн — выходной

The exhibition "New May has risen over the world", prepared by the State Central Museum of Contemporary History of Russia, is dedicated to the history of the celebration of International Workers' Day.

The tradition of celebrating the day of spring and labor began in the middle of the 19th century, when in April 1856, workers' protest marches were held in Australia for the first time demanding an 8-hour working day. On May 1, 1886, a workers rally in Chicago ended with numerous casualties among the protesters and the execution of the organizers of the protest. In memory of those killed in Chicago, the Paris Congress of the Second International declared May 1, 1890, the Day of Solidarity of the Working People of the World. Currently, May 1 is celebrated in 142 countries around the world.

In France, May 1 is officially called La fête des Travail (National Labor Day), in Spain - Día internacional del trabajo (International Labor Day), in the UK - May Day, in Germany - Tag der Arbeit (Labor Day). In the United States, Labor Day is officially celebrated in September, but some Americans remain faithful to May Day and take to the streets with workers around the world.

In the Russian Empire, May 1 was first celebrated in 1880 in Warsaw. Despite the harsh punitive measures of the authorities, the May Day demonstrations gained more and more scale every year and by 1917 they numbered several million people. After the Great Russian Revolution of 1917 in 1918, May Day was declared a public holiday as the day of the International and became a day off. Since 1928, the May Day celebration was celebrated on May 1 and 2. In 1972, the holiday changed its name to International Day of Workers' Solidarity. In the USSR, the main purpose of the holiday was to spread communism throughout the world. In 1990, the last official May Day demonstration took place. After the collapse of the USSR in 1991, May Day lost its former political significance and in 1992 it was renamed the Spring and Labor Day.

The celebration of May 1 has its own characteristics in each country, but there are also common traditions that unite people from all over the world - on this day they not only hold processions with banners, but also give flowers, arrange concerts, folk festivals, an atmosphere of joy and inspiration reigns everywhere. The original exhibits from the museum's collection presented at the exhibition reflect not only the history of the labor movement, the struggle for humanism and justice in different countries of the world, but also the historical moments of joy and hope of people for a peaceful, fruitful and happy future.

Все новости
16.04.2021 — 13.05.2021
Купить билет
16.04.2021 — 13.05.2021
200 / 100 ₽
Стоимость посещения
Москва, ул. Лесная, 55

вт–вс с 11:00 до 19:00,
чт и сб до 20:00
пн — выходной

Выставка «Взошёл над миром новый май», подготовленная Государственным центральным музеем современной истории России, посвящена истории празднования 1 мая.

Традиция отмечать день весны и труда зародилась в середине XIX века, когда в апреле 1856 года в Австралии впервые прошли марши протеста рабочих с требованием 8-ми часового рабочего дня. 1 мая 1886 года митинг трудящихся в Чикаго завершился многочисленным жертвам среди протестующих и казнью организаторов выступления. В память о погибших в Чикаго Парижский конгресс II Интернационала объявил 1 мая 1890 года днём солидарности трудящихся всего мира. В настоящее время 1 мая празднуется в 142 странах мира.

Во Франции 1 мая официально именуется La fête des Travail (Национальный День труда), в Испании – Día internacional del trabajo (Международный день труда), в Великобритании – May Day (Майский день), в Германии – Tag der Arbeit (День труда). В США День труда официально отмечается в сентябре, но некоторые американцы остаются верны Первомаю и выходят на улицы вместе с трудящимися всего мира.

В Российской империи 1 мая впервые отметили в 1880 году в Варшаве. Несмотря на суровые карательные меры властей, первомайские демонстрации с каждым годом набирали всё больший размах и к 1917 году насчитывали несколько миллионов человек. После Великой Российской революции 1917 года в 1918 году Первомай был объявлен государственным праздником как день Интернационала и стал выходным днём. С 1928 года первомайское торжество отмечали 1 и 2 мая. В 1972 г. праздник сменил название на Международный день солидарности трудящихся. В СССР основной смысл праздника заключался в распространении коммунизма по всему миру. В 1990 году состоялась последняя официальная первомайская демонстрация. После распада СССР в 1991 году Первомай утратил свое прежнее политическое значение и в 1992 году был переименован в Праздник весны и труда.

Празднование 1 мая имеет свои особенности в каждой стране, но есть и общие, объединяющие людей всего мира традиции – в этот день не только проводят шествия с транспарантами, но и дарят цветы, устраивают концерты, народные гуляния, повсюду царит атмосфера радости и воодушевления. Представленные на выставке подлинные экспонаты из фондового собрания музея отражают не только историю рабочего движения, борьбы за гуманизм и справедливость в разных странах мира, но и исторические моменты радости и надежды людей на мирное, плодотворное и счастливое будущее.